Getting used to mission life

Sorry its been a little bit getting updates posted. Letters from David have been good, but brief. He is slowly getting used to the rigors of missionary life. He was discouraged for a few days, but with the help of his teacher and District Leader, he realized it was the adversary trying to pull him down. He is now doing much better.

He really is liking the MTC in Peru. They have a devotional every Sunday night. So far he has heard from Elder Oaks, Elder Anderson and Elder Scott.

He says that his Spanish is improving, although he doesn’t always see it. All of his classes are in Spanish. Everything is in Spanish! It’s good for him. They watched the video, “Joseph Smith: Prophet of the Restoration”. It is his favorite one with the girl and her father moving to Nauvoo and the father is converted along the way. It was good for him to watch it, since it is his favorite.

He played volleyball for the first time and did a good job. He says he plays volleyball all the time with his district. I’m glad to hear he is playing something. He was never interested in sports a whole lot here at home. (Aspbergers – Oiy!)

He goes to the temple every week and loves every minute of it!

He found out that October is earthquake season in Peru. (I didn’t know there was such a thing as a “season” for earthquakes?) He says he is fine, no big deal. They had a small one a couple weeks ago, but he didn’t feel it. I see what he means though with Sanitago, Chile experiencing an earthquake just yesterday. Although he is about 2000 miles from there. 🙂

Below are some pictures David has taken while at the MTC.

Finally, I will close this update with words from David, “I know that I have much to learn, but the Lord has told me that I know enough to get by and improvement will come. I know that with God all things are possible. And I know that great and terrible though the power of the adversary may be, it is nothing before the power of the priesthood when properly wielded by one who is worthy.” I have an awesome son! I am so proud of him!

Stay tuned for more updates! 🙂

One comment on “Getting used to mission life

  1. Tina Harmon says:

    Hi there. I just wanted to say that it’s awesome to see the changes already. I always say that young men leave on their missions as boys and come back as men and it is apparent in so many cases when I see the young men leave our ward and when they return home home much they have humbled themselves and grown.

    On that note, Kylie just met with the bishop tonight and started her process of submitting her mission papers. It’s an exciting thing for us seeing that she was on a completely different path. The beauty of the gospel and the Lord knowing each of us personally. I never thought in a million years this would happen and I am very grateful that it is happening.

    Please tell David that I am grateful for his example and his courage to do this and serve the Lord. If it wasn’t for missionaries than the gospel would not spread throughout the world. I may have not joined the church if it wasn’t for a good friend who was being a missionary to me by inviting me to activities and church.

    I want to bare my testimony that the Gospel of Jesus Christ is true. I know it from the deepest part of my soul and my soul recognized it immediately when I first walked into an LDS building to worship. It was like coming home, so familiar yet exciting at the same time. In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

    I hope and pray for you all and for David’s success in his mission.

    Love,

    Tina

Leave a Reply

